Jeonju Hanok Village, Jeollabuk-do, South Korea

Jeonju Hanok Village
Jeonju Hanok Village, Jeollabuk-do, South Korea | Visited: 24 February 2017

My 2017 trip to South Korea has been one of the most fulfilling trips I have had out of all the South Korea trips I have embarked on since 2012.

2012 was when I began travelling far for holidays. Not for school-related events but for a holiday that is not just across the border – like Malaysia, or Indonesia. It was my first ever holiday where I had to board a plane and I could also afford to bring my mother and sister with me as well on our first trip to South Korea.

Since then, I have been to South Korea almost every year. By every year, I mean, e.v.e.r.y. year. 2012 was a starter or like an introduction to South Korea; its culture, its people, the transportation, the food, the harsh winter. From then on, I could not get enough of it I had to go again in 2013 and again in 2014.

Each year I visited, the trip became longer. From just over 5 days in 2012 in which we got to spend New Year’s in Seoul, to 10 days in 2013 where we went a bit adventurous and included Jeju Island in our trip and then a whole 2 weeks in 2014 – as a one-year belated graduation trip with my friends and then my family. Each year, also, the places I visited started becoming repetitive and were mostly confined to within Seoul – Myeongdong, Dongdaemun, Itaewon, Namdaemun, Insadong, etc. The farthest I travelled was to Nami Island.

Speaking of Nami Island, I visited that place 4 times in total from 2012 to 2014. That’s 4 times in 3 trips. It just so happened that in each trip, I was with a different family member and I was also with friends who were first-timers in South Korea. Nami Island was a big hit and everybody wanted to visit it. I just had to bring them there.

2015 and 2016 – I took a break from South Korea. Not because I wanted to, but because I had to. Meaning, if I had the chance to do so in those two years, I would have gone already.

But 2015 and 2016 was a good break, I feel. It was when I went on no-pay leave and went to college to get my degree. It was the year of the Irish for me because I went to Dublin twice – a semester for lectures and placements and then, a week for my graduation thereafter. That was a good experience.

End of 2016 came, and I felt a strong determination to visit South Korea, again. One, because I truly wanted to visit more than just Seoul. I wanted to go to other provinces. I wanted to visit Busan, and Jeollabuk-do and just go anywhere outside of Seoul. Knowing that my sister would be doing her exchange programme in South Korea in February, I jumped on the opportunity to accompany her to South Korea to get her settled in. Once that was done, I wanted to go sightseeing – all by myself. A Seoul-lo trip.

It worked out well – for my parents, for my sister and for me – I guess. My mom was especially worried that I’d be by myself in Seoul for more than a week. She almost bought a flight ticket to accompany me there but I told her I’ll be fine. I had to convince her so much. I know Seoul, or at least I think I know, at the back of my hands – at least enough for me to get around. And I had to promise her I’ll be back at the apartment before the sun sets.

So, I travelled to Seoul with my sister who was with me for the first week before she moved in to her dorm. And, I also took that chance to get her to follow me to Jeonju while she was around. Firstly, I was still afraid of travelling so far out to Jeonju by myself on a train, hence, the sister. Luckily, she agreed. Good news was that her friend also wanted to join in on the trip!

I was researching on how to get to Jeonju Hanok Village just a few days before our flight. However, there was very little information about it. I read about a shuttle bus that would bring us from Seoul to Jeonju but apparently it was not going to be in operation when I’m there. I think they only operate on certain seasons? I am not too sure. I also tried researching about express trains but I couldn’t get any answers as to where I should alight, what bus I should take or if the hanok village was close to the train station. There probably were but I was in a hurry and couldn’t get the information in time!

Then, I stumbled upon BnbHero. I know this sounds very random talking about an accommodation online agency out of nowhere but guys! BnBHero is a G.E.M.

2017-04-23
Link: BnBHero Tour Services

They don’t only offer accommodation but they also have a “tour agency” page. BnBHero offers tours and discounted tickets to many attractions. There are also other “owners” that offers tours as well but I was not convinced to take them on for safety and trust reasons. I found a tour by BnBHero Activity (that is their official one) that would bring us to Jeonju Hanok Village and back to Seoul. It would cost us just 50,000 won. Some people would find this expensive but we paid for the convenience and because the guide would be able to speak English.

In fact, on the day of the trip, the 50,000 won turned out to be an underestimation of the value of what we got out of the tour! We were very lucky in that there was only three of us on the tour – another Jeonju group cancelled theirs. We had an entire car or like a minivan – a very comfortable minivan with individual seats and stuff – to ourselves! It was our very own VIP tour to Jeonju! I was surprised and thankful that they still continued to do the tour with just three people. (BnBHero is awesome!)

Our tour guide Harry spoke relatively alright English. Sometimes we had to repeat ourselves or speak slower so he could understand us and we could understand him.

At Jeonju, he gave a short tour of the Hanok Village. He wanted to make sure that we could visit as much of the Hanok Village as we could on our own and at the same time not getting lost in that gigantic village. It is hugeeeee. We could not cover the entire village in that short 4 hours or so but it was a very interesting experience.

There were many Korean families, school students, and even foreigners who were dressed up in Korean Traditional outfits called the Hanbok. The three of us also jumped on the opportunity to doll up as well!

Koreans and foreigners alike are dressed up in Hanbok at Jeonju Hanok Village.
The shop owner where we rented the Hanbok from also decorated our hair so prettily like this!

 

Towards the end of our 4 hours stay, we got curious when we saw a flight of stairs on a hill nearby. We decided to climb it and were greeted to an amazing view of the village!

Jeonju Hanok Village viewpoint!

Isn’t it absolutely gorgeous?

Visiting Jeonju on my third day in Seoul with a “private” tour van was the best start to my South Korea trip! I am blessed. ♥

You can also watch my travel vlog of Jeonju here:

Nur 

Leave a comment